Spread the love



The Central Council of Ibadan Indigenes (CCII), the umbrella body of all Ibadan indigenes, has sworn in members of its new executive council to pilot the affairs of the association for the next three years.

At the swearing-in ceremony that was held amid funfair at Ibadan House Oke Aremo, Yemetu Axis Of Ibadan over the weekend where Barr. Sulaimon Ajewole, was inaugurated as CCII’s President-General to replace Prince Oluyemisi Adeaga, while Mr. Adetokunbo Subair was sworn in as secretary general.

In their separate views while speaking with journalist at the event that was well attended by notable sons and daughters of Ibadanland, Former first lady of Oyo state, who also doubles as the Maye Iyalode of Ibadanland, Chief (Mrs) Mutiat Ladoja, Mogaji Adanla, Chief Abdul Jelly Adekunle Karheem, Ex-CCII President General, Chief Yemi Soladoye, Former Minister of Sports and Special Duties, Professor Taoheed Adedoja, and Ex-National Champion and International table tennis coach, Chief Waheed Ekun, among others expressed their satisfaction over the newly inaugurated members of the executive council.

They maintained that the newly inaugurated excos will deliver on their mandate.

•••Barrister Suliman Ajewole the newly sworn-in President-General …

Speaking at the ceremony, Ajewole said it is administration’s resolve to build on the earlier lofty achievements of his predecessors, dating to the beginning of the establishment of the council.

Ajewole, who is the 9th President-general of CCII said the ultimate vision of his administration is to complete the official palace of the Olubadan’s palace.

He said, “It is an honour, but I see this as a responsibility that I must face and succeed in. A good foundation has been laid down for us to build on, so we are posed to give CCII, a leadership that will enhance our greater growth and development”.

“There is a need for us to complete the Olubadan’s palace, which has been there for years and we believe within the shortest time the palace will be completed”, he said.

He said the council will partner with the government and investors to empower youths in Ibadan, through facilitation of projects and employ them with gainful employment.

Barr. Ajewole said the council will promote the supremacy of the institution of Olubadan-in-council, while it strives to preserve the cultural values of Ibadanland.

Earlier, his predecessor, Prince Adeaga thanked members of the council for the support granted his team during his tenure. He also highlighted some of the achievements of CCII under hi administration.

Other members of the new CCII executive are Dr. Tirimisiyu Oladimeji, 1st Vice President Peneral; Engr. Alamu Rauf, 2nd Vice President General, Mr. Kunle Shodehinde, 1st Assistant Secretary General; Mr. Raufu Iyanda, 2nd Asst. Secretary General; Kola Olomide, Publicity Secretary; Prince Caleb Akande, Treasurer; Olumuyiwa Oyasogo, Financial secretary; Dr. Demola Taiwo, Legal adviser; Mrs. Folashade Olayiwola, Social Secretary; Mr. Oyerinde Oyewale, Auditor; Mrs. Abolaji Olowookere, Chief Whip; Prince Oluyemisi Adeaga, Ex-officio 1 and Mr. Bolaji Adeleke, Ex-officio 2.

Other dignitaries at the event include the state Commissioner for Information and Orientation, Prince Dotun Oyelade; the Commissioner for Agriculture and Natural Resources, Barr. Olasunkanmi Olaleye; Former Deputy National Publicity Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Prince Diran Odeyemi, Senator Sharafadeen Alli among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *