Spread the love

There is no doubt that Oyo state residents are well prepared for the local government polls scheduled for 27th April, 2024.

Recall that the chairman of Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), Aare Isiaka Abiola Olagunju has through a press statement made available to journalists in the state confirmed his readiness to conduct a fair, peaceful, credible, transparent elections in all the 33 local government areas of the state come April 27th, 2024.

It’s noted that the last local government elections that was conducted in the state was held in May 2021.

In line with this development and directives of OYSIEC, some politicians in the state have commenced campaign in their various communities to ensure victory at the local government poll in April.

Local government election is very crucial to masses because local government administration is the closest tier of government to the people at the grassroots. The roles of the local government executive Chairmen and that of their cabinets cannot be overemphasized in nation building, as they offered direct development to the people of their communities, as dividends of democracy.

On Sunday, 10th March, 2024 the Executive Chairman of Egbeda Local Government, Honorable Sanda Sikiru, who also doubles as the chairman of the Association of Local Governments of Nigeria, (ALGON), Oyo state chapter, officially flagged off his re-election campaign amid wild jubilation and ecstasy from party followers and his political supporters in the Council area.

Hon. Sanda, who is seeking for second term in office as the executive Chairman of Egbeda Local Government is the chairmanship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the coming April 27 local government elections that will be coming up across all the 33 LGAs of the state.

The official flag off event that tagged “Sanda/Simple 2024” held at the popular Adegbayi Round About, Axis of Egbeda local government, Ibadan.

The epoch event was graced by top politicians and members of the ruling PDP in Oyo state, representatives of the party’s state executive council, government functionaries, and other political stakeholders in Egbeda local government. PDP chairmanship candidates and others from various local governments within and outside Ibadan metroplis we’re in ground to support Hon Sanda.

Some of the top politicians and government functionaries who graced the event include a political ally of Governor Seyi Makinde, Bobajiroro of Orile Igbon, Otunba Seye Famojuro, Alhaji Babatunde Tijani otherwise called ‘Double T, Elder Wole Oyelese, Pastor Akin Alamu, Oyo State of TESCOM.

In his brief remarks, Elder Oyelese expressed gratitude to all the political stakeholders and party faithful in Egbeda for the continuous show of support for the administration of Hon. Sanda as well as his re-election bid.

Elder Oyelese, co-chairman Oyo State Elders Advisory Council, equally thanked the traditional rulers, religious leaders, and the people of Egbeda local government while also commending Hon. Sanda for his exemplary leadership and espoused some his accomplishments under three years of being in office which necessitated the trust and confidence reposed in him to return for another term of three years in office as the executive chairman.

Consequently, Otunba Famojuro, alongside Elder Oyelese, officially presented the PDP flag to Hon. Sanda and his vice, Hon. Ibrahim Oladebo as well as the ten councilorship candidates in Egbeda local government.

Overwhelmed by the mammoth crowd and show of support, Hon Sanda expressed gratitude to God and Governor Seyi Makinde, for the opportunity given him to serve his people at the grassroots assuring that he would align fully with the Sustainable Development Agenda under Omituntun 2.0 and replicate the laudable policies and programs at the state in Egbeda.

Hon Sanda also remarked that the unprecedented accomplishments of Governor Makinde paved the way for politicians like him while equally learning further about the nitty gritty of politics and good governance under the Governor’s leadership.

He lauded Elder Wole Oyelese for his unwavering support and assured that he would consolidate on the gains of his first term via improved intergovernmental synergy, collaborations and deepened partnership with friends and partners of Egbeda to develop council to an enviable height among other local governments in the state.

Some of the party leaders in Egbeda who also spoke at the event commended Hon. Sanda for being a trustworthy politicians who has continued to use his office to unite and improve on the fortunes of the party further.

They vowed to take the Sanda/Simple 2024 campaign to every nooks and crannies of Egbeda to ensure a landslide victory at the poll come April 27.

Highlight of the event was the defection of the Chairman, Oyo State APC Councilors Forum alongside Hon. Taiwo Yusuff and Hon. Olakunle Akintola Akile, back to PDP from APC.

Dignitaries present at the event included the Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Planning, Hon. Akin Fumilayo, Hon. Akintunde Olajide AKT, Special Adviser, Dr. Moronkola Thomas, Oyo State PDP Youth Leader and State Publicity Secretary, Hon Michael Ogunsina.

Others are Commissioner for Lands, Survey and Urban Planning, Hon Akin Fumilayo, Hon Akintunde Olajide AKT, Special Adviser, Dr Moronkola Thomas, Hon Babatunde Tijani, Executive Assistant on Disability Matters, Hon Timothy, Chairman Oyo State Park Management System (PMS), Alhaji Wasiu Tomiwa Omolewa.

PDP Chairmanship candidates from Ibadan North Local Government, Hon Seun Olufade, Oluyole local government, Engr Akeem Olatunji, Lagelu Local Government, Hon Mudashiru Kamorudeen, Hon Kazeem Oshoniyi, Hon Lukman Alaga Mewa, former Special Assistant to Governor Makinde on Youth and Sports, Hon Kazeem Bolarinwa, Comrade Adedamola Adebayo Fryo, Hon Akeem Ademola Ige, SA on Inter-faith, Ibikunle Olufemi, Deacon Adegbite, Prince Falana Adebowale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *