Spread the love


The organising committee of the first International Tourism Summit in Oyo State (#ITSOyoState2024) has called for the Governor’s Tourism Award nominations. The awardees are to be recognised for their contributions to the state’s tourism development at an award ceremony during the summit.

The two-day international summit is slated for the International Conference Centre, University of Ibadan, between April 17 and 18, 2024.

The Governor’s Tourism Award ceremony, according to Dr Wasiu Olatubosun, Chairman of ITSOyostate2024 Planning Committee, who doubles as the Commissioner for Culture and Tourism, is to publicly acknowledge the contribution of individuals and facilities to the growth of the state’s tourism sector.

He said, “As we intend to take tourism in the state to a higher level, it is apt that we recognise those who, over the years, have contributed to the growth of the sector in the state. This, we believe, will challenge them to do more and encourage others to also contribute their own quota to the development of the sector.”

Speaking about the international tourism summit, Dr Olatubosun said it is meant to showcase the state’s tourism endowments with a view to attracting investors who will develop them to global standards.

The awards come in seven categories. These are, Tourism Person of the Year, which is an award for the foremost driver of tourism in Oyo State.

The Special Contribution to Oyo State Tourism Award is for an individual or group that has made invaluable contributions towards the development of tourism in Oyo State. Five individuals/groups will win this award.

The Oyo State Tourism Ambassador goes to a creative person or group renowned for contributing to the growth of tourism in Oyo State. The award targets journalists, travel bloggers, skit makers and content creators whose activities support tourism.

The Oyo State Tourism Facility of the Year award is for a privately owned facility that attracts the most tourists in the state because of its state-of-the-art facilities, superb customer service and attention to environmental sustainability.

The Oyo State Tourism Destination of the Year award is for the destination that receives some of the highest number of visitors/tourists in the year and gives the greatest visibility to tourism in Oyo State.

The Oyo State Emerging Tourist Site Award is for a new tourism destination that attracts a high number of visitors/tourists in the year, thus giving great visibility to tourism in the state.

The Oyo State Cultural Presentation Winner of the Year will be conferred on the zone with the best presentation during the opening ceremony of #ITSOyoState2024.

Those who wish to nominate individuals or facilities for any of the award categories are to visit https://tourism.oyostate.gov.ng/itsoyostate2024/nomination-page/ to make their nominations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *