Spread the love


Oyo state Assembly during it’s plenary on Tuesday okays five commissioners, and expressed readiness to liase with Nigeria Customs Service in order to curb the persistent innocent killings in the state.

Five out of the seven commissioners designate that were screened today including Prof. Daud Sangodoyin, Temilolu Ashamu, Fausat Ajoke, Adebisi Adeniyi Akinola Ojo were screened by the House while only Prof. Musibau Babatunde, and Toyin Balogun were unscreened due to avoidable absence.

The House has also directed the seven man committee on state committee to inquire persistent killing of innocent citizens at border communities in the state at the sitting presided by the speaker, Adebo Ogundoyin at the hallowed Chambers, Secretariat, Ibadan.

The decision came to being followed an urgent public importance sponsored by a lawmaker representing Iwajowa, Hon. Anthony Ogunsola and seconded by lawmaker representing Ibadan South West 1 and deputy chief whip, Hon. Yusuf Adebisi on need to investigate persistent extra-judicial killings of innocent persons in the state by the Nigeria Customs Service especially as one Mr Olanrewaju Quadri was killed by a stray bullet while two others injured Alaba Oluwatomi and Joshua Ikeade Dada on Thursday 23rd June,2023 at Iwere Ile, Iwajowa Local Government Area Council.

The House made a resolution by committing Adhoc Committee on Security in the House chairs by the chief whip an a member representing Atiba Constituency, Hon. Gbenga Oyekola to liase with the authority of the Nigeria Customs Service as to discuss ways to checkmate innocent killings while a condolence visit be made to the killing affected citizens.

Similarly, the House announced its 7-man selection committee.

The committee being constituted is chaired by the speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Adebo Ogundoyin, followed by six other committees of the House including Committee on House service, Public Petition, Public Account, Ethics and Privilege and Media and Public Affairs believed to take effect immediately.

The approval followed a move made by a lawmaker representing Atiba Constituency, Hon. Gbenga Adekola and seconded by member representing Lagelu Constituency, Hon. Olajide Akintunde.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *