Spread the love

By Admin


Sadio Mane has again clinched African Footballer of the year Award.

Naijanewshub.com.ng gathered that the Bayern Munich forward Sadio Mane has beaten Mohamed Salah and Edouard Mendy to the African Footballer of the Year award, winning the accolade for a second time.

The 30-year-old helped Senegal to both Africa Cup of Nations glory and World Cup qualification, beating Salah’s Egypt on both occasions.

However, ahead of leaving Liverpool for Bayern in a £35million move, he teamed up with Salah to help the Merseyside club to victory in the FA Cup and Carabao Cup.

He was also a whisker away from adding the Premier League and Champions League trophies in a wildly successful 2021-22 season, scoring 23 goals in 51 appearances.

Speaking at the Confederation of African Football (CAF) awards ceremony in Rabat, Morocco, Mane said: “I am very, very happy to receive the trophy this year.

“I thank the Senegalese people, and dedicate this trophy to the youth of my country.”

It was a successful night for Senegal, with the West African nation claiming five of the seven men’s awards available.

Aliou Cisse won Coach of the Year for leading the country to their first ever AFCON title, while Pape Matar Sarr, who will link up with Tottenham Hotspur for the first time this summer, won Young Player of the Year.

Nigeria and Barcelona forward Asisat Oshoala won Women’s Footballer of the Year after a standout season in which she helped her club side win the Spanish title, and had also claimed the Pichichi award for being the competition’s top goalscorer.

Oshoala, who has endured several injury problems in recent seasons, said: “It’s a record-breaking night for me, as an individual and for Africa as a whole.

“The 2021-22 season was really tough for me as an individual, and I’d like to thank everyone who has stood by me. If you don’t fall, you don’t know the power of comeback and what comeback means.”

(Photo: Getty Images)

The Athletic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *